# Report to the IPOS Board of the Awards Committee 2023

Chair: Jane Turner jane.turner@uq.edu.au

#### **Committee Members:**

- Matthew Loscalzo (USA)
- Maiko Fujimori (Japan)
- Afaf Girgis (Australia)
- Daisuke Fujisawa (Japan)

#### **2023 IPOS Awards**

Nominations were received for all of the Awards. In accordance with previous practice, the submissions were judged by a panel of a former recipient of the named prize, an Awards Committee member and where possible, and an IPOS Board member. All made independent judgements.

Following feedback from the 2022 World Congress, some modifications were made for the Awards presentations in 2023 at the World Congress in Milan.

Recordings replaced live speeches for:

- The Hiroomi Kiwano New Investigator Award
- The Noemi Fisman Award
- The Jimmie Holland Memorial Award

These were played live at the conference PLUS placed on the website for all to view in the future and promoted on social media. The aim of this change was to increase awareness of the awards and winners and to reduce the length of the Awards presentation at the Congress. Feedback has been positive to these changes and this change will continue.

#### The Arthur Sutherland Award

The Arthur M. Sutherland Award honors an IPOS or community member with a lifetime achievement in the field of psycho-oncology and recognizes sustained and distinguished output in psycho-oncology over their whole career.

This is the Society's most important award and reflects the international standing of the recipient.

This Award in 2023 was given to Barbara Andersen (USA) who gave the Sutherland Address at the Congress describing her significant body of work furthering the field of psycho-oncology.

# The Jimmie Holland Memorial Award

This is a relatively new award which honors an IPOS or psycho-oncology community member who has made a unique contribution which is highly creative or pioneering and innovative in advancing the field of of Psycho-oncology.

Th 2023 Award was given to Maggie Watson (UK).

#### **Bernard Fox Award**

This Award is for an IPOS or community member who has made an outstanding contribution in education or research to the field of psycho-oncology, with a focus on academic and educational output.

The 2023 Award was given to Anja Mehnert-Theuerkauf (Germany) who gave a brief presentation at the Congress about her work.

# The Hiroomi Kiwano New Investigator Award

This Award honours a new investigator for outstanding research contributions in the field of psycho-oncology and is open to those within 7 years of completing with postgraduate, fellowship or equivalent specialist training.

The 2023 Award was given to William Rosa (USA)

## The Noemi Fisman Award for Lifetime Clinical Excellence

This Award honours an IPOS or community member in recognition of outstanding clinical contributions to the field of psycho-oncology. The recipient must have served for a major proportion of their career to date as a clinician.

The 2023 Award was given to Gil Goldzweig (Israel).

### **Andrea Patenaude Scholarship**

This scholarship was established by the Patenaude family in memory of the late IPOS member Andrea Patenaude to reflect her work in LMIC and promote the career development of IPOS members in LMICs.

The 2023 recipients were:

- Rodbin Campos Lobo (Costa Rica)
- Apeksha Lakhekar (India)

Jane Turner